Hello!

My name is Melissa. I am trying to insert a picture here, but I have no idea how. I added it, so we’ll just see where it ends up…

Me posing with the cleverly named alligator "Ally"

I’m a 27 year old college graduate from the suburbs of Chicago trying to navigate this crazy, dizzy life. I don’t know why I feel the need to introduce myself to my readers when 1) I probably don’t have any 2) If you know about this blog, you probably already know me 3) It seems sort of creepy.
Why I am starting yet ANOTHER blog I will probably forget to update I have no idea, but here goes.
It took me 20 minutes to name my blog. I thought of all sorts of ideas. Every screen name I’ve ever had has revolved around Counting Crows lyrics, particularly the idea of “this desert life” which is also my favorite album of theirs. Yet some brat had already taken thisdesertlife so, brilliantly, I added my birth year to it. My mom would be proud at my originality and creativity.
So, what do I want to say today? Instead of saying much about me, I’ll impart a quote:
In the depths of winter, I finally learned that within me there lay an invincible summer. -Albert Camus
It seems appropriate. It is only the end of July and I am already dreading the gradual death that is autumn and winter. I dread the cold, the snow, the increased travel time to work, and worry about how the weather will affect my commute to Chicago for graduate school in the fall. To say that I am seeking to find the invincible summer within me seems like an appropriate way to begin this blog. I hope that writing will help me discover it, and that maybe I can find other bloggers that understand what I am going through in this period of my life… where I am trying to find hope to cling to that the future can actually be a bright, brand new day – and we can help each other along.
That’s all for now. Happy almost Friday 🙂
About thisdesertlife09

I'm a 27 year old college graduate from the suburbs of Chicago. I'm beginning my graduate degree in Social Work at UIC. I love: Counting Crows. Pit bulls. Indie movies. Quotes. Summer days at the beach. Chick lit. Writing fiction. Dreaming about "someday...". Watching anything that relates to vampires or faraway places (House Hunters International). I use Hoarders and Clean House as motivation to clean. I'm a Democrat. The end :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

