Book Rec

This book is one of the best books I’ve read in my entire life. It plays with themes of family, homosexuality, friendship, faith, and complex political and religious issues… if I could pick one book to make every single friend of mine read, it would be this one.

This quote pretty much changed my life:

“I remember my mother telling me that, when she was a little girl in Catholic school, the nuns used to hit her left hand every time she wrote with it. Nowadays, if a teacher did that, she’d probably be arrested for child abuse. The optimist in me wants to believe sexuality will eventually become like handwriting: there’s no right way or wrong way to do it. We’re all just wired differently. It’s also worth nothing that, when you meet someone, you never bother to ask if he’s right- or left- handed. After all: Does it really matter to anyone other than the person holding the pen?”

Read it. Weep. Smile. Laugh. Listen to the soundtrack provided. Open your heart to the characters and you will end up feeling like they are your new best friends. I really hope there is a sequel.

About thisdesertlife09

I'm a 27 year old college graduate from the suburbs of Chicago. I'm beginning my graduate degree in Social Work at UIC. I love: Counting Crows. Pit bulls. Indie movies. Quotes. Summer days at the beach. Chick lit. Writing fiction. Dreaming about "someday...". Watching anything that relates to vampires or faraway places (House Hunters International). I use Hoarders and Clean House as motivation to clean. I'm a Democrat. The end :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

